HyperVerge

Returning to Reversing

HyperVerge

Greetz,

I used to disassemble 16 bit executables for DOS BBS games such as Barren Realms Elite and EGA Trek using good ole debug.exe.

I started programming with BASIC on the Apple ][e and quickly jumped on the PC bandwagon with Assembly language.  I never did like high-level languages as much as the low-level languages.  I dabbled with Turbo Pascal (7) and Visual Basic (6.0 all the way up to 2013) and VBA.

I like using Ollydbg and WinDbg and recently have tried PEBrowse64, but each has limitations as far as single stepping through code.  Exceptions happen far too often, it seems. 

Anyone here use virtual machines (and serial or firewire ports) to take advantage of kernel debugging?  I've tried it a couple times, but it was a very finicky procedure...

The scene sure has changed since the Internet went mainstream.  I used to think 9600 bps was fast and 14,400 bps was blistering!  R.I.P. x86

CybotX